Commentaires récents

ACCI SUMMER ACTIVITES AND PROGRAMS

Share

Calendar of events

JULY 2014

Tamarack Decoy Making with Harold Bosum
Thursday, July 3, 2014 / 13:30 – 15:00
Thursday, July 10, 2014 / 13:30 – 15:00¬¬

Tamarack goose decoys are delicate wood sculptures of various sizes made, not by carving, but by binding the fragrant twigs of the tamarack tree into a likeness of the Canada goose.

Cree Carving with Andrew Moar
Saturday, July 5, 2014 / 13:30 – 15:00

Moose / Caribou Antlers – Look at all the thing you can do with your antler besides mounting them. All antlers can be carved on and made into something.

Sling Shot Activity
Tuesday, July 8, 2014 / 13:30 – 15:00
Tuesday, July 15, 2014 / 13:30 – 15:00

The sling is an ancient weapon used in every corner of the globe. They can be easily made with household materials. It is an instinctive skill honed only by practice. General use comes fairly easy, but good accuracy takes years to attain.


Archaeology Activity – Display & Stone Chipping

Saturday, July 12, 2014 / 13:30 – 15:00
Saturday, July 26, 2014 / 13:30 – 15:00

Flaking stone like obsidian, chert, and flint were used by Native Americans to make arrowheads for hunting and fishing up until about 200 years ago. Meet our Archaeologists as they demonstrate the ancient tools to make arrowheads.

Teepee Workshop
Thursday, July 17, 2014 / 13:30 – 15:00

A teepee, also known as a tipi, is a dwelling that was, and still is, used by Cree people and other Native people in Canada and USA. Setting up a Teepee takes skill! Learn the correct way to setup a Teepee.

Bannock Making
Saturday, July 19, 2014 / 13:30 – 15:00

Come and learn how to make Bannock, the Cree way! Bannock is simple bread that can be baked, fried, or cooked over an open fire.

Drum Making
Tuesday, July 22, 2014 / 13:30 – 15:00

The Cree drum has a single-head for an individual player. Its main components are a birch wood frame and a Caribou or Moose hide. This particular drum’s sound is a harmonious buzz. Elders used it for ceremonial purposes.

Beaded Earrings
Thursday, July 24, 2014 / 13:30 – 15:00

Beaded earring designs – Learn how to make beautiful earrings with help from skilled Cree artist and artisans.

Patterns and Designs
Tuesday, July 29, 2014 / 13:30 – 15:00

Cree patterns and design has been passed on from generation to generations. What is their signification? Meet our artist and artisans ask they share their knowledge.

How to Embroider
Thursday, July 31, 2014 / 13:30 – 15:00

Often times our traditional clothing is decorated with embroidery. Come learn the skills associated with embroidery work and take a moment to try this technique out.

AUGUST 2014

Beaded Earrings
Saturday, August 2, 2014 / 13:30 – 15:00

Beaded earring designs – Learn how to make beautiful earrings with help from skilled Cree artist and artisans.

Basket Making
Tuesday, August 5, 2014 / 13:30 – 15:00

Our ancestors were very resourceful and birch bark baskets were made to carry items that were gathered. Come see and how these beautiful baskets were made and try to make one yourself.

Baby Charms Making
Thursday, August 7, 2014 / 13:30 – 15:00
Tuesday, August 12, 2014 / 13:30 – 15:00

Baby charms were used to protect our babies from colds, illnesses and bad spirits. Come and learn the history of these important items while trying to make one of your own.

Miniature Mittens
Saturday, August 9, 2014 / 13:30 – 15:00

The winter months can be extremely harsh and having the right clothing is essential to survival. Come and learn the process of making mittens and try to make your own miniature pair while you are here.

How to Embroider
Tuesday, August 14, 2014 / 13:30 – 15:00

Often times our traditional clothing is decorated with embroidery. Come learn the skills associated with embroidery work and take a moment to try this technique out.

Spruce Basket Making
Tuesday, August 19, 2014 / 13:30 – 15:00
Wednesday, August 20, 2014 / 13:30 – 15:00

Our ancestors were very resourceful and spruce bark baskets were made to carry items that were gathered. Come see and how these beautiful baskets were made and try to make one yourself.

Fish Net Activity
Thursday, August 21, 2014 / 13:30 – 15:00
Friday, August 22, 2014 / 10:00 – 12:30
Saturday, August 23, 2014 / 13:30 – 15:00

Fishing has been essential to survival since time immemorial. Come and learn the process that our ancestors used for making nets for fishing.

Traditional Child Care
Tuesday, August 26, 2014 / 13:30 – 15:00
Wednesday, August 27, 2014 / 13:30 – 15:00
Thursday, August 28, 2014 / 13:30 – 15:00

Children play a vital role in society and there has been great importance place in caring for children. Come and see the many different aspects of child care that our ancestors used in caring for their children.

  1. Aanischaaukamikw Cree Cultural Institute nominated in a prestige award from Les Grand Prix de Tourisme Quebecois 2014.
  2. Introduction to Traditional POW-WOW Dancing and Outfit Making